Daily Prompt: INTENSE

“Daily Prompt: INTENSE

Describe the last time you were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something, or were surprised at how strongly you reacted to something you thought wouldn’t be a big deal.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us INTENSE.”

This afternoon, I stepped into a church. It possessed a  lawn of golden autumn leaves with men standing on pieces of green grass. Anxious to give me a leaflet, a brunette-haired man approached me and I, anticipating the intention, silently waved my hand to signal that he should keep his distance. I hoped his companions would not impose their message on me by replicating his attempt.

I stepped inside the church and was initially confused by where to go. Quickly, the confusion subsided, and the moment I awaited had arrived.

My time to vote.

As I held in my hand the paper that would articulate my voice and my choice, and the pen that would serve as the instrument for enacting it, I felt powerful.

As I examined each of the questions on this instrument of choice – the ballot –  I felt stronger as I examined each of the ways I could determine how I wanted things to be. I wished that instead of just casting a vote “for” or “against” a candidate or issue, I wished I could eliminate items from the menu instead of answering in the format the ballot asked me to. I wanted to convey the truth, using my pen, that voting is not just about what you embrace, it’s also about what you deny or reject, and our choices are often based off what we deny or reject. We often make choices because we are REJECTING one thing, and by default, we’re accepting something else.

But there’s no line on the ballot to explain that.

 

Leave a Reply

