Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic: Book Review

Unstoppable

A man with no arms and no legs lives in a world not designed for those like him. Would you be saddened or inspired by his story?

Such is the true tale of Nick Vujicic in Unstoppable. When I first saw the synopsis of this book as a reviewer for the Blogging for Books program, I wasn’t going to read his book. Why not?

I didn’t expect to glean new insights from another book urging people to turn to their faith to find hope in hard times – it isn’t a new idea.The summary on the cover of Unstoppable, “The Incredible Power of Faith in Action”, didn’t strike me as particularly interesting as the idea of faith being powerful is also familiar.

What made Vujicic’s story a page-turner was the universal human issues addressed in it: love, belonging, loneliness and purpose. The story wasn’t so much about living with a disability but about living as a human. Over and over he recommends putting “faith into action” but Vujicic’s story isn’t all sunshine and roses. He gets real about depression, bullying and failure, things I don’t think I’ve seen any other major Christian figure get vulnerable about.

Unstoppable was far greater than I had expected, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for an inspiring read.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as part of the Blogging for Books program. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Image

Leave a Reply

