Kitchen Confidence by Kelsey Nixon Book Review

9780770436995

Can you cook well?

I can’t say that I can.

I’ve been known to substitute ingredients like apple sauce or peanut butter when there are no eggs to be found, and I still have yet to master how to make pancakes. Despite not having a clue of what to do in the kitchen sometimes, I still want to learn, which is why I was excited to receive a copy of Kelsey Nixon’s new book, Kitchen Confidence.

Unfortunately, my stove had other plans in store… it stopped working.

However, there are lots of great things I could say about Kitchen Confidence:

  • An introduction of “essential pantry” ingredients is included. This showed me how my kitchen’s supplies vary from a confident cook (or professional chef). As a beginner, this was overwhelming because there would clearly be a transformation involved – I would need to buy a lot of things to transform my pantry – but it did explain why every recipe I see on TV would involve buying several things I don’t have on hand.
  • There’s an intro on the tools you need to craft your food… knives, pans, etc.
  • The book has a good balance of recipes: breakfast dishes, salads, appetizers, desserts and more. Many of the recipes have photos included so you’ll know what the end product should look like. (Very important for a beginner!)

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for providing an honest review of this product.

bfb-728x90-2

Leave a Reply

