Book Review: Water From My Heart by Charles Martin

https://i0.wp.com/www.hachettebookgroup.com/_b2c/media/cache/e6/44/e6445048a284a6df6e2ae432f8371e6a.jpg

Charlie Finn has lived a materially rich, yet lonely, life. After a stint at a world-renown university, and then as an intern for a businessman, he finds himself consistently bucking the system and finding himself as an outsider.

Homeless as a young man, he possesses a resourcefulness to survive – even if it isn’t physical survival that is at stake – and he decides to work in an unusual industry. But after some permanent, life-altering changes with the ones he loves, he reflects on his life and can no longer continue on the path he has been walking.

Water From My Heart is a beautiful story of a man who is broken and lonely, yet finds redemption. I enjoyed the details of the story and the flashbacks of the current moment in opposition to the previous parts of the character’s life. (I also liked how the character shared the author’s first name. It made me wonder what parts of the story might mirror the author’s life.) I don’t read a lot of fiction, but I enjoyed this book very much. I’d recommend Water From My Heart to readers who can appreciate a complex male character and those who enjoy stories that are full of emotion.

FTC Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

