The Pursuit of God

A. W. Tozer was a student of the Bible. He rose to prominence within the Christian community as a pastor. Without a formal seminary education, he studied the Bible and eventually gained the reputation and respect that allowed him to preach, teach and write books about Christian theology.

tozer

I had heard of Tozer from a mention of him in one of Joshua Harris’ books (Harris being the sometimes loved, sometimes scorned author of I Kissed Dating Goodbye). Harris made mention of Tozer having a booming, powerful voice, with what sounded like a passion for preaching truth. I had high expectations for Tozer’s writing, so I was looking forward to reading The Pursuit of God.

The cover of the book is spectacular.

The Pursuit of God is a reprint of a previous edition. It apparently has a great following, as most of the reviews on Amazon give it high marks. But as many times as I tried to read this book, none of it stuck with me. It was, as someone else said, boring. The Scripture holds power and truth, but this book brought me no new insights, and none of it could keep my attention. I gave it several chances, tried reading it in several places, at different times. I tried reading it at several different sections, but nothing worked. I couldn’t finish the book. For me, this book was uninspired, boring, dry, dull, and like a bad sermon.

FTC Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

MPnewsroomMemberBadge

Leave a Reply

